To safeguard the interests of the learners, Dharmambal Veerappan Public School set up the POCSO Committee (set up under the provisions of Prevention of Children from Sexual Offence Act 2012) on 22nd April 2021.The Committee works towards safeguarding the learners from the challenges they face in their formative years at school. The Committee takes up age appropriate initiatives to create awareness about sexual exploitation and to ensure that all learners are aware of their rights and responsibilities towards themselves. Training sessions are conducted for the faculty and staff to recognize and report issues of abuse and neglect. Complaint Boxes are placed strategically and checked regularly by the Committee members to address the complaints, if any.

All children have as equal right to access education in an environment that is safe, protective and conducive to the overall development. The challenges of gender inequality, eve-teasing and sexual abuse in school environment call for increased awareness and creating synergy among parents, teachers and school. In order to ensure strict compliance of the Protection of Children from Sexual Offences Committee (POCSO) Act 2012, CBSE has taken several initiatives and actions for creating awareness about sexual exploitation among school children. The committee will take appropriate and necessary action on reported cases of misbehaviours of sexual offences in the school premises.

Through its awareness campaigns and programmes, the Committee strives to ensure that all learners are treated with dignity and respect at all times. Gender Sensitivity Awareness programmes are conducted for learners of grades 5 and above. In a series of Awareness programmes and Special School Assembly conducted in the School throughout the year, learner participation is encouraged. Age appropriate videos are shown and self defence sessions are also conducted as a part of the Awareness programmes.

The POCSO committee comprises of the following members:

1. Mr. Arulanantham. S  Principal
2. Mrs. Sangeetha. J Academic Coordinator
3. Mrs. Saraswathy. V Librarian
4. Ms. Arulpriya. A Teacher Representative
5. Ms. Anjana .S Student Representative
6. Master. Vijayakumar. N Student Representative
7. Mrs. Madhumathi. V Wellness Teacher

Mandatory Public Disclosure